Written by Godfrey AKON

TETFund enlists 14 new beneficiary institutions

The Tertiary Education Trust Fund, TETFund, has added 14 new public tertiary institutions to the growing list of beneficiaries of its statutory interventions, bringing the total number of beneficiaries to 216.

The approval which was made by the Board of Trustees of TETFund, followed numerous requests by some public tertiary institutions.

A statement by the fund’s Director of Public Affairs, Mr Benn Ebikwo, said the Executive Secretary of TETFund, Dr. Abdullahi Baffa, who announced this at a brief ceremony in Abuja, charged them to adhere to the operational guidelines of TETFund and ensure transparency in their implementation of the various intervention lines.

Baffa, while congratulating the management of the newly enlisted institutions took the heads of the institutions through the workings of the fund and its various intervention lines, urging them to familiarize themselves with the TETFund establishment Act and the various guidelines set out for all the intervention lines.

He noted that the brief ceremony was held in order for the management of the Fund to meet directly with the heads of the institutions and acquaint them with the operations of the Fund and modalities for accessing its various interventions.

The TETFund boss presented letters of enlistment to the heads of the 14 new institutions and stated that they will begin to benefit from the fund’s interventions with effect from 2019.

Vice-Chancellor of First Technical University, Ibadan, Prof. Ayobami Salami, who spoke on behalf of the new beneficiaries, thanked the board of trustees and management of TETFund for finding them worthy of enlistment and promised to be worthy partners in their relationship with the fund.

The newly enlisted institutions are First Technical University, Ibadan; College of Education, Lanlate; Oke-Ogun Polytechnic, Saki, Oyo State; University of Medical Sciences, Ondo; Gombe State College of Education, Billiri; Ibarapa Polytechnic, Eruwa, Oyo State and Ogun State Institute of Technology, Igbesa.

Others are Gateway Polytechnic, Saapade; Air Force Institute of Technology, AFIT, Kaduna State; College of Education, Kangere; Bilyamunu Usman Polytechnic, Hadejia; Federal Polytechnic, Ukana; Federal Polytechnic, Ile Oluji and Enugu State Polytechnic, Iwollo.

Following the approval, the 14 institutions will start receiving annual funding from TETFund for the development of critical infrastructure for teaching and learning, provision of instructional materials, training of academic staff among other interventions of the fund.



Latest posts

PhotoISSUP to introduce addiction prevention, treatment, policy in higher institutions

The Nigeria Society of Substance Use Prevention and Treatment Professionals, of the International Society, Substance Use Professionals, ISSUP, has [...]

21 October 2019

PhotoNigeria/Russia Relations: The Missing Link

On November 15, 1884, 14 mainly European countries gathered in Berlin for a meeting which lasted to February 26, 1885. The aim of that conference w [...]

20 October 2019