Written by Sarah NEGEDU

FCT gets nod for new education policies

The Federal Capital Territory Administration recently received approval to implement all its planned policies listed on five memoranda submitted at the 64th meeting of the National Council on Education.

According to the Federal Capital Territory Education Secretariat, all the memoranda submitted at the 2019 Joint Consultative Committee on Education, JCCE, seek to improve and promote self-reliance as well as strengthening the Education Sector for sustainable economy benefits of FCT Schools and Residents.

Expressing delight for the approval, the Ag. Secretary and Director of Administration and Finance, Education Secretariat, Mallam Umar Marafa, said a lot of efforts was commitment into the memoranda before its submission, intense deliberations and presentations for final approval by the Council.

Represented by the Director, Universal Basic Education Board, Dr Adamu Noma, said the memoranda when implemented will place the FCT ahead of other states as well as ensure the quality service delivery to the populace.

Also speaking, the Director, Department of Policy, Planning, Research and Statistics, DPPR & S, Dr Sani Ladan, said the approval of FCT memoranda by the highest decision making body of the Education sector is heartwarming adding that, the approved FCT memoranda is expected to be implemented within a year and reports to be given before the next circle of the Joint Consultative Committee on Education meeting in 2020.

He therefore seeks for further support to ensure the approval is not taken for granted stressing that his department will intensify efforts towards the realisation of functional education in the FCT.

Some of the planed policies include the need to organise artisans into clusters for work place literacy and proficiency for the achievement of 2030 Education Agenda, Development of a framework for the  Establishment of Sustainable funding and Operation of Vocational Entreprise Institutes, VEIS.

Others include the plan to reinvigorate self-reliance through the incorporation of active and all inclusive entrepreneurship centres in the existing teaching institutions, strengthening of entrepreneurship education in tertiary institutions through provision of start-up kits to graduating students for self-reliance, the need to strengthen NYSC skills acquisition and entrepreneurship development, SAED, program for self-reliance.

Explaining the process that leads to the final approval, Deputy Director and Head of Division, Vocational Education, Mrs Victoria Nwaorgu, said there are nine reference committees which are, adult and non- formal education, basic education, senior secondary education, special education, teacher education, technology & science education, tertiary education, educational planning and quality assurance.


Latest posts

PhotoNECO postpones 2020 common entrance

The National Examinations Council, NECO, has indefinitely postponed the 2020 Common Entrance Examination into the 104 Unity Colleges. [...]

24 March 2020

PhotoCOVID-19: FCTA impose partial lock down

As the nation brace up to contain the further spread of the dreaded COVID19, the FCT Minister, Muhhamed Bello, has announced a partial lock down of [...]

24 March 2020